Teaching Jobs Abroad: 20 Open Positions

Twenty teaching vacancies and program calls were open when checked on 6 November 2026, spread across 18 countries from Japan and Vietnam to Morocco, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia. Boards, employers, qualifications and pay by country are covered in the teaching jobs abroad directory; this list of ads is checked regularly.

Pay is given only where the ad states it, in the ad’s own currency. Many ads had no posting or closing date, and several contradicted themselves on experience, pay or start date; those conflicts are noted once per ad. Ads that say “competitive” without a figure are listed as such.

Last checked: 6 November 2026. Listings expire; if an ad has closed, try the employer’s careers page.

Twenty open positions in four job families

Government programs

  • JET Programme, 2027 intake, Japan. Applications run through each country’s Japanese embassy or consulate. JET Program USA gives a deadline of 13 November 2026 for US applicants. First-year pay is about ¥4,020,000, per the Embassy of Japan in the Netherlands. Requires a bachelor’s degree by the start date. Departures are in July and August 2027.
  • EPIK Spring 2027, public schools across South Korea. The official site showed the application as open, with no deadline posted. Base pay of ₩2.2 million to ₩3.0 million a month with free housing, per a recruiter’s summary of the official scale dated 4 May 2026. Eligibility rules sit on EPIK’s application page, which was not checked for this list.
  • TAPIF 2027-2028, schools across France. Closes 15 February 2027. Pays €1,010.67 gross a month, about €810 net, for up to 12 hours a week from October to April. Open to US citizens and permanent residents aged 20 to 35 with three years of higher education and B1 French.

Language schools

  • Teacher, immediate start, British Centre of Melilla, Melilla, Spain. Closes 14 November 2026; posting date not stated. €1,675 gross a month for 34 hours a week including admin time. Requires a degree, CELTA, CertTESOL or a TEFL certificate, one year of experience and the right to work in the EU. The ad calls native-level English both preferred and required.
  • EFL teacher, English International School, Modica, Sicily, Italy. Contract January to May or June 2027; no closing date stated. €1,300 to €1,560 net a month for 25 to 30 hours a week. Requires a degree, CELTA or CertTESOL, a year of experience including very young learners, and EU citizenship or a work permit. The ad gives the school’s age as both 13 and 23 years.
  • EFL teacher, Global English Teaching Academy, various locations in Austria. Ten posts; posting, closing and start dates not stated. From €1,800 gross a month for a 30-hour contract, with social insurance. Requires a TEFL certificate, 200 hours of classroom experience and EU work rights. A training period before the contract is mandatory, but its length is garbled in the ad.
  • Teachers for China, inlingua Cheltenham recruiting for Greatway Education, Huizhou, China. Start as soon as possible; no closing date. RMB 18,000 to 22,000 a month in the offer, but RMB 18,000 to 20,000 in the salary section. Up to 22 teaching hours in a 40-hour week. Requires a degree, CELTA, CertTESOL or TEFL and a clean police check; flights, visa and housing provided.
  • English teacher (expats only), Wall Street English, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Closes 8 November 2026. Salary listed as competitive, with no figure. Requires a bachelor’s degree, a 120-hour certificate and a passport from New Zealand, the US, Canada, the UK, Australia, Ireland or South Africa. Experience is given as two to three years in the header and one to two preferred in the text.

International schools

  • Prep School Teacher of English, Marlborough College Malaysia, Iskandar Puteri, Johor. Closes 16 November 2026 at 9:00 GMT; starts 1 August 2027. Pay described as a competitive package. First-round interviews are online in the week of 23 November 2026. Requirements are in a candidate pack not shown on the ad. The school had eight more posts on Tes with the same deadline.
  • Secondary German Language and Literature Teacher, Swiss International Scientific School in Dubai, UAE. Closes 29 November 2026; starts 4 January 2027. No salary figure; the package includes furnished housing, an annual flight allowance, medical insurance and the visa. No formal qualifications listed; appointment depends on identity, social media and criminal record checks.
  • Kindergarten Teacher, BASIS International School Bangkok, Thailand. Posted 1 October 2026; no closing date. Three-year contract starting July 2027. Salary not stated; benefits include housing or a housing allowance and flights. Requires a bachelor’s degree and two years as a lead classroom teacher, which the ad says the work visa needs.
  • Homeroom KG Teacher, Advanced Education Company (Al Forsan International Schools), Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Posted 20 October 2026; no closing date. Pay given as US$2,500 to US$3,750 a month in one place and SAR 10,000 to 13,000 in another. Female applicants only; visa-eligible citizenships listed as Australia, Canada, the UK and the US. Experience required is stated as one and as two years.
  • English teacher, International Schools of Choueifat (SABIS), UAE, Oman, Qatar and Bahrain. Ten posts, starting immediately; no closing date. Tax-free salary, no figure given. No experience or teaching qualification required, though the ad lists both specific degree subjects and “any degree.” Free furnished housing, flights and no recruitment fees; unqualified hires may study for a PGCE with iQTS.
  • Head of Primary and ELS, Khalil Gibran School (Inspired Education), Rabat, Morocco. Full-time, permanent, starting August 2027. Closes 1 December 2026; no pay stated. Housing support, annual return flights and relocation assistance are listed; the ad does not mention a visa. Requires a degree, a recognized teaching qualification, and substantial primary classroom and primary leadership experience.
  • Language Arts Teacher, Middle and High School, American International School of Abuja, Nigeria. Full-time, fixed term, starting 1 August 2027. Closes 29 December 2026. US$44,000 to US$57,000 a year, paid 80% in US dollars and 20% in naira. The ad does not mention a visa, housing or flights. Requires a bachelor’s degree in education or English and two years of secondary teaching, with knowledge of the Common Core.
  • Vice-Principal, Secondary School, Pride ISM, Yangon, Myanmar. Full-time, permanent, starting 2 August 2027. Closes 20 November 2026; pay listed only as competitive, with no figure. All visa fees are covered, and accommodation, relocation flights and international health insurance are provided. Requires a bachelor’s degree in education (or a relevant degree plus PGCE or QTS), leadership experience in an international school and a police check.
  • Head of Secondary English Language Learning, Wellington College International Shanghai, China. Full-time, fixed term, starting 1 August 2027. Closes 29 November 2026; pay described as highly competitive, with no figure. Housing, flights and medical insurance are said to be included; the ad does not address visas. Qualifications are in a PDF job description, and an enhanced DBS check is required.

Universities and recruiter placements

  • Academic English Instructor, Dalian Polytechnic University (DPU-BSTU Joint Institute), Dalian, China. Starts March 2027; no closing date. ¥15,000 to ¥20,000 a month for 13.5 teaching hours a week. Requires a bachelor’s degree (master’s preferred), a TESOL, TEFL or CELTA qualification and eligibility for a Z work visa; two years’ experience appears only in the header. Free on-campus apartment and one paid trip home a year.
  • Teach English in Thailand, Kids English Thailand (placement agency), northern Thailand. Thirty posts, intakes from October 2026; no closing date. ฿30,000 to ฿36,000 a month depending on location and qualifications. Requires a degree, police clearance and, for non-native speakers, TOEIC 800 or IELTS 6.0. The ad says zero placement fees, but reimburses ฿5,000 of visa costs only after a full two-semester contract.
  • Teach English in Japan 2027, TEFL UK (recruiter), Japan. Closes 31 December 2026. ¥252,800 to ¥300,000 a month; the hiring school is not named, with Shane English School, Interac and Nova given as examples. Requires a degree; some roles need a TEFL, and the recruiter sells the course it prefers. The ad’s “up to 3M a year” headline does not match its monthly range.

Fee-paying placements and requests for visa fees

One ad found during the check, a three-month placement in Peru, charged teachers a program fee that the ad did not quantify, and was left out for that reason. Eslbase’s list of TEFL scams, updated 21 January 2026, holds 25 entries, six marked active; most ask for upfront visa or processing fees, impersonate real schools, or offer pay far above local rates. In the UAE, a 2018 Gulf News investigation reported that labor law bars agents and companies from charging candidates recruitment or visa fees.

Several other ads were checked and left out: British Council teacher posts in Madrid, Palma de Mallorca and Amman were marked filled; a Tokyo university program was still advertising its Fall 2026 term; a Bucharest school’s start dates of August and September 2026 had passed; and a Tashkent school’s ad page was last modified in November 2024. No Latin American ad with a named employer and checkable terms could be opened, so the region is missing from this list.

Closing dates from 8 November 2026 to 15 February 2027

  • 8 November 2026: Wall Street English, Ho Chi Minh City
  • 13 November 2026: JET Programme, US window
  • 14 November 2026: British Centre of Melilla
  • 16 November 2026: Marlborough College Malaysia, with online interviews from the week of 23 November
  • 20 November 2026: Pride ISM, Yangon
  • 29 November 2026: Swiss International Scientific School in Dubai; Wellington College International Shanghai
  • 1 December 2026: Khalil Gibran School, Rabat
  • 29 December 2026: American International School of Abuja
  • 31 December 2026: TEFL UK placements in Japan
  • 15 February 2027: TAPIF 2027-2028

EPIK’s Spring 2027 intake has no posted deadline.

Related Links